Piccadilly Line Part 5

Barons Court to Leicester Square

Weeeeellll it’s been a while since I posted, or indeed did any of the tube walk. It’s not abandoned though, just a combination of laziness and global pandemic. I visited London about 3 times in the space of a year; aside from when I lived overseas, that’s the least in my adult life.

Back on topic, I went for a short tube walk with my good friend Jo. At a time when we weren’t seeing friends much, it was wonderful.

We got the tube to our first stop, Barons Court. It’s one of the first open air stations on the line. Not too much to say about this but the former Formula One driver B. Bira, who was a member of the Thai Royal family, was found dead at the station on 23 December 1985.

A short distance away, we found a mini library; put a book in and take one out. You can find out more at littlefreelibrary.org

We came across our first sign of Christmas

We did our trip on 11th November. As expected, there were lots of wreaths and memorials. We took our time to pause for reflection. It resonated all the more on this very strange year.

By this time, we were heading towards the centre of London, the bits that I know and love.

The empty streets were getting to us. Never seen London like this.

Very few people around. The West End was dark, no theatres, cinemas, restaurants open.

Before the train home, we passed Mr Fogg’s Tavern, which was once the home of Phileas Fogg. It was good to see parts of London I’d not noticed before.

I enjoyed seeing my friend, and to get walking again. But sobering. Never dreamed during my previous walks there would be a need for a London Underground themed face mask. The twenties, you’ve been strange.


Leave a comment