Land’s End to John O’Groats

I love to travel.  I’m fortunate enough to have visited lots of countries and I’ve lived in three.  However, my experience of UK travel is, frankly, pathetic.  Born and bred in south-east London, I’ve rarely left there.  I’ve never been to Scotland and have spent only a few days in Wales.  So, this year, I am planning to change my terrible homely habits and see a bit more of our great land.

I’ve always been in awe of those who do the LEJOG.  My friend Wil cycled it last year.  I last rode a bike in the 1980’s so that was not an option for me.  I’d love to walk it, but lack of time and money means that’s not a viable option either.  I put the idea to the back of my mind with the fluff and other rubbish that populates it, but one day, a customer bought an intriguing book to my till.  It was titled ‘Move Along, Please’ by Mark Mason and detailed his LEJOG by local bus.  I got a copy for myself and the idea that I could do this was born.

After a whole lot of online research, I’ve come up with a route:

Day 1:  Land’s End to Torquay

Day 2:  Torquay to Bristol

Day 3:  Mooching around Bristol with my friend Joanne who lives there.

Day 4:  Bristol to Birmingham

Day 5:  Birmingham to Manchester

Day 6:  Manchester to Newcastle

Day 7:  Newcastle to Edinburgh

Day 8:  Sightseeing and washing my pants in Edinburgh

Day 9:  Edinburgh to Inverness

Day 10: Inverness to John O’Groats

 

I think I’ve worked it out so I’ve enough time to reach my accommodation each night, but it’s hard to know for sure until bus timetables are finalised.  If I absolutely have to, I’d consider getting a train or coach but that’s a last resort.

I am hoping to raise some money for Parkinson’s UK while doing this.  My neighbour Fiona was recently diagnosed.  She’s doing well, but there’s so much more to learn about this disease.  My Justgiving page is here.

I’ll hopefully be blogging as I go, but I have been known to come over a little queer if I read on buses, so I’ll have to see about that.

If anyone has done anything similar, and has advice, please feel free to leave a comment!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Land’s End to John O’Groats

  1. Great idea. Back in the 1980s I did a long-distance rail trip on a special All-Line ticket you could buy then. It inspired me to even more travel around Britain. So, go do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

